Monthly Archives: August 2014

TOMORROW: Anishinabek vs Louisiana Pacific, take 2

Some news about Friday’s hearing before the Superior court of Quebec. Anishinabek of the Algonquin Nation of the Ottawa River Watershed are attempting to obtain a safeguard order to stop the logging operations of Louisiana Pacific in Lac Lucie area, La Vérendrye Wildlife Reserve.

The hearing has been postponed to Monday (tomorrow).
ANORW Solidarity will be waiting for you at 12:30 in front of Montreal’s court room (1 rue Notre-Dame, Place d’Armes metro) for a demonstration like we did on Friday. The hearing itself is set to happen at 13:30, in room 14.09.

Facebook event : https://www.facebook.com/events/569127059866235/

credit: Hélène Collin

credit: Hélène Collin

Attorneys of Louisiana Pacific and Resolute Forest Products have asked for the hearing to be postponed, claiming that they weren’t ready and that, according to them, 6 logging companies could get involved in the case. There was even mention of involving other companies who are indirectly affected.

Meanwhile, as Tina Nottaway put it, nothing is said about every family, nation, ecosystem, animal and human who are indirectly suffering from the logging.

Furthermore, attorney for the Anishinabek Paul-Yvan Martin claims that the Ministry of Natural Resources has failed to provide him with the logging permits for the area, which would have allowed him to see in advance what companies are involved in the area and thus, to save precious time.

Louisiana Pacific agreed to not cutting trees between midnight Friday and midnight Sunday. However, she said she would still gather the trees that have already been cut, an operation which, in itself, causes a lot of damage to the vegetation and the soil.

This is disappointing, although not exactly unexpected.

That said, we’ve had a great gathering with supporters outside of the court house, and corporate media are starting to show interest for the case. We’ve talked to journalists from La Presse, Le Devoir, Le Journal de Montreal and CHGA FM radio station. That’s not even mentionning the few independent media who covered the event.

Despite these delays, we must persist and show our concern. If you can be there tomorrow, well, be there ; )

HeleneCollin_GGenfeu

credit: Hélène Collin

Friday: Solidarity gathering with the Anishinabek at Montreal’s court house

ShannonChief_adayofpeace_grandmothers

credit: Shannon Chief

Wednesday, during a big gathering organized by the Anishinabe of the forest of La Verendrye Wildlife Reserve, a bailiff showed up… to serve a letter of notice to logging company Louisiana Pacific!

The company is summoned before the court on Friday morning, August 15th, at Montreal Palais de Justice. The judge will examine an emergency request of the Anishinabek to force a stop to the logging in some sectors of La Verendrye Wildlife Reserve. The decision to emit an injuction to that effect, or not, will be made the same day and will be immediately effective.

Friday morning at 9:00, we invite you
- to join us in front of the Palais de Justice for a solidarity gathering;
- and then to attend the court hearing in numbers. It promises to be extremely interesting, and a potential turning point of this fight.

*** Please note that the exact time of the event could change, as well as certain details.

See you soon!
ANORW Solidarity

Day of peace for Mother Earth wrap-up

Today, there was a lot of people at the checkpoint. Many Anishinabek from the community and around, Mohawks from Akwesasne and Kahnawake, Quebecers and visitors from many origins. The objective: to foster unity against the destruction of Mother Earth.

Representatives from the Ministry of Natural Resources and Resolute Forest Products, who were invited to come and talk with the community to find a fair solution to the issue, didn’t show up. However, we had a pleasant surprise when a Bailiff sent by the Superior court of Quebec came to serve a letter of notice to logging company Louisiana Pacific, which is harvesting frantically in the checkpoint’s area. Friday, at the request of the community, a judge will decide whether or not to issue an injunction against Louisiana Pacific to interrupt logging activities.


Wednesday: A day of peace for Mother Earth

We are still at the checkpoint at km 318 of road 117. The community here is organizing a big demonstration, with people from all Nations. They are hoping that this event could greatly impact how things will unfold next. So if you can go out there for one day only, Wednesday is a good day for that!

Wednesday, August 13th, 10:00 am, km 318 or road 117, Québec

” A peaceful demonstration to make aware of all of the people of all Nations, things have to change and the Grassroot people will have to lead this revolution in order to ensure a more green and naturally sustainable future for all mankind.
Only one day of your time is asked to come and speak and support for our Mother Earth.

Bring your drums and singers. ”

FB EVENT: https://www.facebook.com/events/745191912186605/
CARPOOLING PAGE: https://www.facebook.com/events/263635010504453/
PRESS RELEASE: http://solidaritenabro.org/?page_id=67&lang=en

Photos and videos from the solidarity visit

Archives mensuelles : août 2014

DEMAIN: Les Anishinabe contre Louisiana Pacific, prise 2

Quelques nouvelles de l’audience de Vendredi devant la cour Supérieure du Québec. Les Anishinabe de la Nation algonquine du bassin-versant de la rivière des Outaouais cherchaient à y obtenir d’urgence une ordonnance de sauvegarde pour interrompre immédiatement les coupes forestières de la compagnie Louisiana Pacific dans le secteur du Lac Lucie de la réserve faunique La Vérendrye.

L’audience a été remise à lundi prochain (soit demain), 13h30, salle 14.09, et elle sera entendue par un-e juge à déterminer. Ça se poursuivra le mardi.

Solidarité NABRO vous attend donc demain à 12h30 devant le Palais de Justice (1 rue Notre-Dame, métro Place d’Armes), le temps d’avoir une présence visible à l’extérieur avant l’audience. Ensuite, vous êtes encore une fois invité-e à assister à l’audience elle-même.

Évènement Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/569127059866235/

HeleneCollin_court1

credit: Hélène Collin

Les avocats des partis défendeurs (à commencer par Louisiana Pacific) ont demandé le report sous prétexte qu’ils ne sont pas préparés et que Produits forestiers Résolu veut intervenir dans la cause. Ils soutiennent que 6 compagnies forestières sont affectées par la procédure légale et pourraient vouloir intervenir. Ils ont même parlé des compagnies manufacturières dépendantes des forestières qui voudraient intervenir aussi. On peut aller loin avec cette logique là…

Pourtant, comme l’a dit Tina Nottaway, porte-parole des Anishinabe , rien n’a été dit à propos de toutes les nations, les écosystèmes, les animaux et les individus qui souffrent indirectement des travaux forestiers.

De son côté, l’avocat des Anishinabe soutient que suite à la mise en demeure qu’il a envoyée au Ministère des Ressources naturelles, l’organisme gouvernemental ne lui a jamais fourni une copie des permis pour qu’il soit à même de voir qui est impliqué dans le secteur qu’on cherche à protéger d’urgence.

Louisiana Pacific s’est engagée à ne pas faire de travaux d’abattage entre minuit vendredi soir et minuit dimanche soir. Mais elle a précisé qu’elle effectuerait quand même le ramassage du bois déjà coupé, une opération qui cause à elle seule beaucoup de dommages à la végétation et au sol. Décidément, l’idée que « l’économie » prime sur tout est tenace.

Assez décevant, donc.

Le positif: On a assuré une bonne présence devant le Palais de justice et à l’intérieur, et il y a pas mal d’intérêt des médias pour la cause. On a parlé à des gens de la Presse, du Devoir, du Journal de Montréal et de la radio CHGA fm. Sans parler des journalistes citoyens qui ont couvert l’évènement.

Malgré les délais, malgré la bureaucratie, il faut être tenaces et montrer qu’on est préoccupé-es. Si vous pouvez être là demain, soyez-y!

HeleneCollin_GGenfeu

credit: Hélène Collin

Vendredi: rassemblement en appui aux Anishinabe au Palais de justice de Montréal

ShannonChief_adayofpeace_grandmothers

credit: Shannon Chief

Mercredi, lors d’un grand rassemblement organisé par les Anishinabe de la forêt du « Parc » de la Vérendrye, un huissier s’est présenté… pour apporter une mise en demeure à la compagnie forestière Louisiana Pacific!

Celle-ci est convoquée vendredi matin, 15 août, au Palais de Justice de Montréal. Le ou la juge examinera alors une requête d’urgence des Anishinabe pour interrompre coupes forestières dans certains secteurs de la réserve faunique La Vérendrye. La décision d’émettre une injonction à cet effet, ou pas, devrait être rendue le jour même et prendra effet immédiatement.

Vendredi matin à 8h30, nous vous invitons donc à
- vous joindre à nous devant le Palais de Justice pour un rassemblement de solidarité;
- puis à assister en grand nombre à l’audience, qui promet d’être extrêmement intéressante.

Évènement facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/569127059866235/

À bientôt!
Solidarité NABRO

Retour sur la journée de paix pour la Terre-mère

Aujourd’hui, il y avait beaucoup de monde au campement. Beaucoup d’Anishinabe de la communauté et des environs, des Mohawks d’Akwesasne et de Kahnawake, et des visiteurs Québécois et de toutes les origines. L’objectif: créer l’unité face à la destruction de la Terre-mère.

Les représentants du ministère des Ressources naturelles et de Produits forestiers Résolu, qui avaient été invités à dialoguer avec la communauté pour trouver une solution juste, ne se sont pas présentés. En revanche, nous avons eu une agréable surprise: Un huissier envoyé par la Cour Supérieure du Québec est venu remettre une mise en demeure à la compagnie Louisiana Pacific, qui coupe à grande vitesse dans le secteur du campement. Vendredi, un juge devra décider s’il émet une ordonnance de sauvegarde, à la demande des Anishinabe, pour interrompre les travaux de coupe de la compagnie.


Mercredi: une journée de paix pour la Terre-mère

Nous sommes toujours sur place et la communauté ici organise un grand rassemblement avec des gens de toutes les nations. Ils et elles comptent beaucoup sur cet évènement pour la suite des choses. Si vous pouvez vous déplacer pour une seule journée, mercredi est une bonne journée pour ça!

Mercredi, 13 août 2014, 10h am, km 318 de la route 117.
« Une démonstration pacifique pour conscientiser tous les peuples de toutes les Nations. Les choses doivent changer et les peuples de la base vont devoir mener cette révolution afin d’assurer un futur plus vert et naturellement durable pour toute l’Humanité.
Seulement une journée de votre temps est demandée pour venir, parler et démontrer votre support pour le Terre Mère. Apportez vos tambours et chanteurs/euses. »

ÉVÈNEMENT FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/events/745191912186605/
COVOITURAGE: https://www.facebook.com/events/263635010504453/
COMMUNIQUÉ: http://solidaritenabro.org/?page_id=67

Photos et vidéos de la visite de solidarité