A DAY OF PEACE FOR MOTHER EARTH

Press release
for immediate release

A DAY OF PEACE FOR MOTHER EARTH

La Verendrye Wildlife Reserve, August 12th, 2014 – The Algonquin Nation of the Ottawa River Watershed (ANORW) is calling for a Day of peace for Mother Earth. On that occasion, the nation invites the representatives of the Ministry of Natural Resources and Resolute Forest Products to open a dialogue in good spirit. Solidarity ANORW adds their voice to the Anishinabek to invite the population to come and witness this important event, Wednesday, August 13th, 2014, at 10:00 am, at the km 318 of the route 117.

For two weeks now, Anishinabek of the Alonquin Nation of the Ottawa River Watershed have been holding a checkpoint at the entrance of a logging road in order to express their concern over large scale logging happening on their unceded territory. They have reached out to the Ministry of Natural Resources and Resolute Forest Products, and give their representatives until Wednesday to show up at the checkpoint to find a fair solution to the issue.

Supporters from everywhere in Quebec, including Solidarity ANORW, are present to support the Anishinabek. They are witnessing the extent of the devastation and the tremendous speed at which the cuts are expanding, but also the good will of the people of the forest and their openness to dialogue.

Solidarity ANORW believes that beyond the Anishinabe and their land who are directly suffering from this situation, this struggle is everyone’s struggle.

To find out more about this issue and Wednesday’s event, visit solidaritenabro.org.
Solidarity ANORW is a grassroots organization that supports the Alonquin Nation of the Ottawa River Watershed in their efforts to protect the forest on their unceded territory.

- 30 -

For more information:

Solidarity ANORW
Website: http://solidaritenabro.org
Email: solidaritenabro@gmail.com
Phone: 514-220-1976

Tina Nottaway and Charles T.Ratt, spokespersons for The Algonquin Nation of the Ottawa River Watershed (ANORW).
Email: we.are.anorw@gmail.com
Phone: 819-215-0477
Website: 8thfirecouncil.com

JOURNÉE DE PAIX POUR LA TERRE-MÈRE

Communiqué
pour diffusion immédiate

JOURNÉE DE PAIX POUR LA TERRE-MÈRE

Réserve faunique La Vérendrye, mardi, 12 août 2014 – La Nation algonquine du bassin-versant de la rivière des Outaouais appelle à une journée de paix pour la terre-mère. À cette occasion, elle invite les représentants du ministère des Ressources naturelles et de Produits forestiers Résolu à venir dialoguer de bonne foi avec elle. Solidarité NABRO ajoute sa voix à celle des Anishinabe pour convier la population à venir témoigner de cet événement d’importance, mercredi le 13 août 2014 à 10h, au km 318 de la route 117.

Depuis maintenant deux semaines, les Anishinabe sont postés à l’entrée d’un chemin forestier dans le but de protéger la forêt sur leur territoire non cédé, qui subit présentement des coupes forestières massives. Ils tendent la main au ministère des Ressources naturelles et à Produits forestiers Résolu, et donnent à leurs représentants respectifs jusqu’à mercredi pour venir les rencontrer sur place afin de trouver une solution juste.

Des sympathisants de partout au Québec, dont Solidarité NABRO, sont présents sur place pour appuyer le peuple algonquin. Ils ont pu constater l’étendue de la dévastation et la vitesse alarmante à laquelle les coupes progressent, mais aussi la bonne foi du peuple de la forêt et de leur ouverture au dialogue.

Au-delà des Anishinabe et du territoire qui subissent directement les impacts de l’exploitation abusive, Solidarité NABRO croit que cette lutte concerne tout le monde.

Pour plus d’information sur la situation et l’évènement de mercredi, visitez solidaritenabro.org.

Solidarité NABRO est un regroupement citoyen qui appuie la Nation algonquine du bassin-versant de la rivière des Outaouais dans leurs efforts pour protéger la forêt sur leur territoire non cédé.

- 30 -

Pour plus d’informations :

Solidarité NABRO
Site Web : http://solidaritenabro.org
Courriel : solidaritenabro@gmail.com
Téléphone : 514-220-1976

Tina Nottaway et Charles T.Ratt, portes-parole pour la Nation algonquine du bassin-versant de la rivière des Outaouais.
Courriel : we.are.anorw@gmail.com
Téléphone : 819-215-0477
Site Web : 8thfirecouncil.com